Erin’s Story Pitches

Morgan Hardware: It’s a small town hardware store located in the middle of Lavonia. It’s open Monday though Saturday. A lot of men congregate there in the mornings. It’s a place where locals get together and talk about life.

Richard Reddon: He’s a crane operator who also raises rat terriers. Currently he is operating a crane at the construction where Rutherford Hall was located. His dad, a 90-year-old war veteran, lives next door to him.

Mama Lynn’s: Mama Lynn’s soul food restaurant in downtown Lavonia. Mrs. Lynn owns a couple of restaurants in the area and works at a soup kitchen. It’s a local favorite. All of the recipes are her own. Monday through Friday, they have a menu for customers to choose food from, and on the weekends, she has a simpler menu listed for people to order from.

Randy Foster: I haven’t been able to get in contact with this guy yet. I was given his number by Margaret Ayers (the lady who knows all). He is a chicken farmer and Mrs. Ayers thinks he also has other animals as well, which is the sort of thing I would really like to do if I could get in contact with him.

11 Responses to Erin’s Story Pitches

  1. If you can get Randy, do it! If not, Mama Lynn would be cool.

  2. theshandacrowe says:

    I agree. If you can get Randy, that’ll be right up your alley. I like the Morgan Hardware story too though. You know how I feel about old people. Haha.

  3. Mark E. Johnson says:

    I would push you towards the hardware store – that’s classic small town America, especially if it’s a morning gathering place. It’ll be all about the relationships with the customers and workers and that dynamic will change a lot throughout the day.

    But then, I love old hardware stores …

    What’s Reddon’s relationship with his dad like? Is he the caretaker? If so, that has a lot of potential, too.

  4. Patty says:

    Hardware store. Make sure to be there early that morning to catch the congregating of the menfolk.

  5. Heather Pitts says:

    If it is the hardware store I am thinking I wouldn’t do it…emphasis on I. I like the crane operator if you could get some photos of him here before you leave and then more stuff this weekend when you go to Franklin.

    And, if the crane man is too hard to work with then I would go for mama lynns.

  6. jabanes says:

    I like the hardware store. All of the people gathering there in the morning could definitely give you a multi-layered story that gives people a glimpse of life in Franklin County.

  7. Lexi Deagen says:

    I think the hardware story is awesome. Like MEJ said, it’s classic small town America. Especially if there’s a lot of foot traffic, there could be some good photo opportunities

  8. I think the small town hardware store story would be great

  9. Damien Salas says:

    I think mama lynn’s could provide some really intimate photos. She seems well connected with the community, in a motherly way.

  10. David Bristow says:

    Crane operating is interesting. 2 questions, though. Will he be doing anything next weekend while we are there? Is access an issue at the construction site (I’d be willing to bet that it is)? I could go either way on hardware and Mama Lynn’s.

  11. Love the Morgan Hardware story, and I believe that Eddie Floyd, one of the owners, is also a goat farmer, so that might be a nice addition to the story if you could tie it in.

Leave a Reply

