Mitigating Disasters

Okay, so the loss of Tuesday’s class may not be a disaster, but it certainly threw a monkey wrench in the works.

We need to get the following things done:

  • VizCamp – since there was no class, we’re behind on this
  • Local stories – we were out last Thursday, so haven’t looked at the first set and there’s another set coming in this week
  • Elbert County photos – we need to get everyone organized and small portfolios built to send off to the fine folks at the Star
  • Elbert County slideshows – we need to create these, as well
  • Video interviews – those need to get edited and critiqued

Here’s my proposal:

  • Start Thursday with a weekend debrief, then VizCamp then open lab until 4 p.m.
  • The local stories that are due this week we’ll move the deadline to Tuesday, March 16 at 2 p.m.
  • Elbert County photos I need by 5 p.m. on Friday, March 5 so we can package them for the Star
  • Elbert County slideshows we’ll have due on Friday, March 19 by 5 p.m. (Remember you can work with Audacity and Soundslides over break – Audacity is free and there’s a free demo of Soundslides, but you will have to open, save and then export your final version from a licensed copy.)
  • Video interviews will need to be watched in class on Tuesday, March 16 – so the deadline is 2 p.m. on those. Drop them on the server.

Which just leaves us a lot of “when am I gonna do all of this?” panic-induced tremors. I will let you into the lab between 12:05 and 1:15 today (Wednesday), come by my office and I’ll open the door for you. Thursday morning I’ll be in my office between 8 and 8:30 – show up then and I’ll let you in. Will be in a meeting until 10:15, so I won’t be able to let you in until then again but you’ll be able to stay until class starts at 2. Friday I’ll be here at 8, as well, and can let you in until lab opens up at 10:45 (when you’ll be able to come in on your own).

 

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Let me know.

2 Responses to Mitigating Disasters

  1. Lindsay Dobras says:

    How many stills can we turn in from Elberton? And can we use images we want to put in our slideshows?

  2. Mark E. Johnson says:

    You can turn in as many as you’d like – I’m going to trust your judgement on this. (I know, I make mistakes sometimes …) You want your portfolio from the weekend to have some variety and show how you saw the community.

    I do not expect many audio slideshows to get posted, so it’s fine to turn in images you may use in your slideshow later on.

Leave a Reply

