Energy Ideas

I came across something that sounds interesting for our energy project when I was looking at the Georgia Nature Center website. The Nature Center focuses on different ways to conserve energy. They have concerts throughout the year that are solar powered. With Athens being the big music town that it is, I think finding ways to conserve energy for concerts is a great idea.

The Georgia Nature Center also has a lot of exhibits that explain what people can do to conserve energy. They offer tours for school field trips, groups, or anybody who is interested in learning how to go green. They have one exhibit called the Next Generation Solar Home, which powers a house on strictly on solar and wind energy. It is a partially underground home with an all-glass main floor cooled by geothermal Earth tubes.

Another exhibit offered at the Georgia Nature Center is Clean Energy Exhibit. According to the website, it is a permanent renewable energy showcase that focuses on solar and wine power, green building techniques, hybrid vehicles and other clean energy sources. One part of the Clean Energy Exhibit that they are emphasizing is a way to cool and heat soil naturally. They have geothermal Earth tubes that keep the ground temperature at 65 degrees all year round, providing natural climate control with much less energy than regular heating and cooling systems for the ground.

About Lindsay Dobras
I am a senior journalism student at the University of Georgia. I couldn't possibly have asked for a better four years in Athens. I always dreamed of going to UGA, and my time here has been unforgettable. I met the greatest people in the world, I have had many amazing experiences, and I have learned more about myself than I ever thought I could. My passion is photography. I got my first camera when I was in middle school, and I have been taking pictures ever since. I hope to one day open my own business doing event, engagement, sports, nature and portrait photography. Or anything that anyone will hire me for. I'm not picky. I just like having a camera in my hands. And of course, go dawgs!

Leave a Reply

